Crowded election year for the county

By Scott Pearson Associate Editor
Posted 5/26/22

2022 will be a busy election year for Marshall County with the county general election, as well as a host of municipal, state, and federal seats up for grabs.

Voters will have two opportunities in …

This item is available in full to subscribers.

Please log in to continue

Log in

Crowded election year for the county


2022 will be a busy election year for Marshall County with the county general election, as well as a host of municipal, state, and federal seats up for grabs.

Voters will have two opportunities in the fall to choose their representatives in government at all levels.

The August 4 ballot will feature state and federal primaries as well as the county general election and municipal elections for Lewisburg and Chapel Hill.

The final day to register to vote in August will be July 5. Early voting will take place between Friday, July 15, and Saturday, July 30.

All county offices, other than property assessor, will appear on the August ballot.

Seven of the nine commission districts are contested, with crowded races in several of them for the two seats.

Only in District 1 and District 2 are incumbents Dean Delk and Craig Blackwell and Debbie Hill and Joseph Warner, respectively, not facing challengers.

District 3 boasts six candidates vying for the two commission seats. Incumbents Anna Childress and Tony Nichols are contending with former Commissioner R.L. Williams, and Shawn Hawkins, John McCullough, and Anthony Parker.

For District 4, incumbents Mickey King and Roger Murphree are challenged by Curtis Denton and Ken Lee.

District 5 will see a new commissioner with Tony Beyer running as the sole incumbent against Terry Dunnivant and Mary Cedeno.

Incumbents Sheldon Davis and Cannon Allen are joined in the District 6 race by Toby Adams and Shaun Arndt.

Seth Warf and Keith Hollingsworth are the incumbents for District 7, with Danny Morgan challenging for a seat.

District 8 voters will choose between incumbent Jeff Poarch, Commissioner Lynn Stocstill, who currently represents District 5 but will have moved into the new district by the election, and James Hopkins and Joey King.

District 9 will also have a new representative. Incumbent Glen White is running along with Nathan Johnson III, Andy Reed, and Walt Redding for the two seats.

In the county-wide races, two incumbents face challenges.

Curtis Johnson is contesting Marshall County Trustee Scottie Poarch for his seat, and incumbent Register of Deeds Dorris Wayne Weaver faces Joey Young and Roger Russell.

Marshall County Mayor Mike Keny, Sheriff Billy Lamb, Superintendent of Roads Jerry Williams, Circuit Court Clerk Mike Wiles, and County Clerk Daphne Girts are all unopposed for reelection.

None of the judicial elections on the ballot are contested. Incumbents Barbara Medley, as Lewisburg City Judge, Lee Bussart, as Marshall County General Sessions and Juvenile Court Judge, and Forest Durard and Wyatt Burk, as 17th District Circuit Court Judges, will all return. Also unopposed for reelection are 17th District Chancellor J.B. Cox, 17th District Public Defender Donna Hargrove, and 17th District District Attorney Robert Carter.

Lewisburg voters will go to the polls to elect the mayor and three councilmen for the next four years, all in contested races.

Incumbent Mayor Jim Bingham is being challenged by Councilman Joe Bradford for the position.

Incumbent Jerry Gordon in Ward 4 is being challenged by Tommy Burns. Jack Cathey, in Ward 2, and Peggy Harwell, in Ward 3, face challenges for their seats from Vickie Michael and Harry Lee Douglas Jr., respectively. Both Cathey and Harwell were appointed to the city council to fill remaining vacancies.

Chapel Hill will see one new alderman after August. Incumbents Dale Brown and Jonathan Gilbert are joined by Benjamin Piper Sr. in the race for the three open seats.

Brian Williams chose not to run for reelection.

Mike Faulkenberry is unopposed to continue as Chapel Hill mayor.

Cornersville will have seats on the board of aldermen up for election as well, although those will be on the November ballot and the field is not yet set.

Only one of three seats on the Marshall County School Board is contested. Incumbent Kristen Gold is challenged by Terri Argo for the District 3 seat.

Julie Keny Cathey and Heidi McElhaney are unopposed for reelection from Districts 5 and 9, respectively.

Incumbent State Rep. Todd Warner will face two challengers in the Republican primary for the 92nd District in Matt Fitterer and Jeff Ford.

Both Fitterer and Ford serve currently as elected officials in Williamson County, part of which replaced the sections of Lincoln, Franklin, and Marion Counties in the district after this year’s redistricting done by the legislature in response to the 2020 Census count.

Angela Hughes is unopposed in the Democratic primary for the 92nd District seat.

Marshall County will choose a new Congressional Rep. after moving from the 4th District to the newly redesigned 5th District. The primary field is expected to be large but is still in turmoil after the state GOP removed three candidates from the ballot, including one endorsed by former President Donald Trump.

Those races will be decided on November 8.

As always, and especially with redistricting this year, it is recommended that voters verify, if there is any doubt, their polling location and districts prior to election days.